Ready Girl Goes to New Orleans

Hi friends,

I’m very excited to share with you all about my recent visit to New Orleans. I was invited to present at the National Hurricane Conference to speak about what I do and how important it is to make sure kids like you are prepared for emergencies. The session was titled “Public Education: Preparing the Public for Disasters: Examples of Current Public Outreach Programs to Increase Preparedness.”  I met people from all across the United States who have an interest in emergency preparedness. There were former meteorologists, emergency managers, professors, members of the armed forces, logisticians, public information officers and many more. It was so cool. I even won an award for Outstanding Achievement in Public Awareness!

Part of my presentation at the National Hurricane Conference included a visit to a local school in New Orleans. I visited friends at the ReNew Schaumberg School, located in the Lower Ninth Ward.  The school was destroyed during Hurricane Katrina and recently faced damaged from the tornadoes that swept through the city in February. The students are temporarily relocated to a school nearby. The temporary school is located right across from a levee, which is a natural wall that helps keep water out of low-lying areas.

When I presented to the students, we shared our stories about emergency preparedness. I shared my experience during Hurricane Sandy, and what I teach kids like you about what to do in an emergency. We talked about making meeting places, and how in New York, we have apartment buildings that house many families.  We also talked about different weather related emergencies that happen in New York, such as blizzards and snowstorms, and different types of weather that happens in New Orleans, such as thunderstorms.  The students then shared their stories and experiences about emergencies, including the recent tornado. We shared tips on how to pack a Go Bag, and sang the Go Bag song!

It was one of my favorite school presentations, because I was able to learn from the students in New Orleans on how they get prepared. We had a great day, and I’m happy I was able to come by share my story of preparedness.  Below are some of my favorite pictures from the visit.

Thank you for having me, ReNew Schaumburg!

Peace and friendship,

Ready Girl

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

