Snowflakes and Emergency Plans: No Two Are the Same

Hi everyone,

I hope that you are enjoying the first few weeks of school! We are already into the third week of National Preparedness Month, and this week we are focused on preparing ourselves.

Each of us are unique in our own way, and that is why our emergency plan should be, too! (Just like no two snowflakes are the same, no two emergency plans are the same.)

When you are making your emergency plans and gathering your supplies, think about the following items that YOU may need. Some items I always make sure I have in my Go Bag are:

• An extra pair of glasses
• My inhaler
• My retainer
• Medicine in case I get a headache or a tummy ache
• Extra change of clothes
• Snacks that I like to eat (pretzels, granola bars)

I also know that I like to have important information written down. This includes my important phone numbers and meeting places in case of an emergency. I keep this information in my backpack for school, my locker and of course, in my Go Bag at home.

One of my friends, Matt, has a guide dog named Cliff. When Matt prepares, he makes sure to include items for Cliff, such as extra dog treats and toys.

What are some of the special items you use to prepare?

Share and post below!

Peace & Personal Preparedness,

Ready Girl

Leave a Reply

