Ready Girl Goes to D.C.

Hi friends,

Last week I flew down to Washington, D.C. to accept an award from the National Association of Government Communicators! Ready Girl won first place in the K -12 Educational Program category. It was an honor to get to meet such incredible people from all across the country who work every day to make our country safe and informed. I am very happy to have received this award on behalf of NYC Emergency Management.

While in D.C., I had some fun hanging out with my friends from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) sharing ideas and stories about preparedness!

I also took a trip around town to visit each branch of government, including the White House, the Capitol Building and the Supreme Court.

image2IMG_5029IMG_5037

After I travel, I like to review my emergency plan with my out-of-state contact. It’s always good to give them a call and review your plan so you and your family know what to do in an emergency. Be sure to have your out-of-state contact’s  phone number and address written some place safe where you can always access it if you need to, such as your Go Bag.

Peace, stars and stripes,
Ready Girl

Leave a Reply

